Twins Reunited!

Ok, it was a few weeks ago, but I’ve been real bad about updating posts lately. Alexis and Lou have been trying to get me to visit Seattle for years. Even before Alexis moved out there, Lou had a campaign to get me to visit. At first on a student budget, a trip seemed out of reach. Then work and life got in the way, and I just kept putting it off. Now I’m a freelancer, and taking time off is always tough. But I’ve been doing well, and I figured I could sneak in an extended weekend out to Seattle. Combined with the super cheap tickets Alexis found, my trip was booked before I really thought about it. Of course, a client wanted to book me the week I was gone, and I got other calls about work that I couldn’t take- but if you worry about that as a freelancer, you’ll never go anywhere.

I showed up the same night as Alexis’ office holiday party at Safeco field. We went from the party to a local bar and back to Alexis’ (awesome) apartment. Somehow I managed to stay up and active until about 2 or 3 am Seattle time. Which, for my East Coast body, was quite a feat indeed. Guess it helped get me on West Coast time, though, which was good. Saturday morning we woke up as early as our bodies could handle, and headed straight to the local zipcar for a road trip out to Orcas Island. One of the ways Alexis finally got me out to the West Coast was her stories of Doe Bay, a beautiful “resort” that she does a work weekend at every year. Its kind of a hippy resort, in the best way possible. The property if full of cabins and yurts, hiking trails and an organic farm. The best part? A sauna and hot tubs that overlook the islands. A guest day pass was only a couple of dollars, and it was totally worth the long trip out there. We stayed with Alexis’ friends who live on the island, and had a great night of games after we got back from Doe Bay. (I highly recommend the silly dice game Bears! that Wally showed us. Fun and simple, its definitely a crowd-pleaser.)

On our way home we stopped by an icy field for a photo shoot with some umbrellas that Alexis rented from Bella Umbrella. Sure, we got some funny looks when we told people that we were renting umbrellas. But you know know? It was worth it. We had so much fun out in that field, with Alexis’ phone balanced precariously on an icy bench, playing with a self-timer.

Even though the trip was a vacation for me, Alexis still had to work. She’d work from home during the mornings (and from her phone while we were walking around) and then we would head to her office in the afternoon. Her office is right downtown, an easy walking distance from Pike Market, so my exploring of the city was around there.

Dinosaur Alexis, about to destroy Seattle

One day we took a trip around the Great Wheel, the huge Ferris wheel at the end of the pier. One of Alexis’ friends is only familiar with me based around the dinosaur Halloween costume I made a few years ago. I guess Alexis was hanging out with him when I sent her a picture of it, and it left quite an impression. I brought the dress by request, and Alexis quickly slipped it on over her clothes when we were traveling on the wheel. What can I say, we’re all about the photo ops!

One thing that I was pleasantly surprised to discover were all the tea shops in Seattle. Chris and I have a tea blog that we collaborate on (well, he posts the most, but I try to contribute, too!) and I’ve been learning a lot about loose leaf tea lately. That combined with the fact that the day I was due to land back in Philly was Chris’ birthday meant I went into tons of shops looking for good presents. I found some great stuff, and can’t wait to bring him back to Seattle to visit all the great tea places with me.

I don’t remember the first time we walked by Piroshiky, Piroshiky but I became obsessed. The shop smelled awesome, and while I’d never heard of Piroshikys before, I knew I wanted one and it would be amazing. They’re basically pastries stuffed with various things.

SO EXCITED!!

I was in a haze when we got there (so excited!) that I didn’t really take in all the options, and got a simple potato and cheese. I don’t regret the choice, but after looking up the company once I was East Coasted again, I realized I missed out on trying some interesting varieties. Next time, Piroshiky, Piroshiky. Next time.

Other highlights of the trip? We got twin tattoos on our left wrists. While it didn’t go exactly as I had hoped (I had a bit of a freakout when we unwrapped the tattoos, since they were distinctly different looking, and they weren’t really supposed to be) I’m really glad we got them. We went rock climbing with Alexis’ friends, which was fun. My circus classes had me well prepared for scaling the climbing wall, but man, those climbing shoes are not comfortable. I prefer the barefoot climbing we do at the circus school. We met up with Lou and Dave (our Aunt and Uncle) for a great dinner and game night one night and then happy hour and a National Geographic lecture another night, which was great.

Overall it was the perfect amount of time, and a really fun trip. Meeting a whole bunch of Alexis’ friends was really great, and I’m glad I finally got to see the Emerald City. Thanks, Seattle, for being such a great vacation!

