This whole black Friday/cyber Monday madness? I’m LOVING it. I have almost all the Christmas shopping one for my family and Chris’. The best part- I did it all without leaving the house. Shopping online is the best thing ever. Easy to compare prices, easy to find sales and easy to get it all done at once. The UPS guy is going to think I’m a crazy person. I also save a ton of money on a new computer monitor for the office, and a vacuum to replace the one that smelled like burning. Woohoo! I’ve got a bunch of stuff planned to buy from the farmer’s market, as the holiday gets closer, and I’m going to make some presents, so I’m keeping it local and home-grown as much as possible, too.

Belly dance costume pieces = tree ornaments!

All that holiday shopping put me in the Christmas mood. We had some time to kill this morning before the farmer’s market opened (they’ve switched to their winter time, and open at 10 now) so swung by wholefoods to pick up a little rosemary tree. It’s my favorite way to be festive. Makes the house smell awesome, useful for cooking and nice and size appropriate for a cramped South Philly row home.

The rest of the decorating was super easy. Embarrassingly, the stockings I made for us have been up since last year, as have the lights around the window. I had packed away the small light strand for the tree in a bag with the rigged left-over-costume-piece ornaments, so that part was easy too. The lights on the banister are up all year, too… a white strand paired with a set of awesome robot lights. They get turned on for parties, and pair with my tree quite nicely!

This year I had some extra ornaments. Chris has some kinda-creepy Santas that he’s had for ages… When he was a kid he was allowed to pick ornaments every year, and he picked out the Santas.

Creepy Carolers

To match the strange Santa ornaments, I have a set of snowmen carolers that I’m sure anyone else would scoff at. I don’t really know the history of them, other than I grew up with a set at my Mom’s house, and I think my cousins had some too. I think they came from some sort of sale at my Gram’s office, but I’m not sure. They look pretty home-made, so that would make sense anyway. One of the snowmen I grew up with lost his little hat at some point, and it was replaced with a crochet one. When we were going through my Grandfather’s house we found some extra snowmen in the attic. I brought them home with full intent to put them out last year, but completely forgot about them in the basement. This year… prominently displayed on the stairs above the tree. Love them!

