Knitting lopi

Ok, so maybe I’m crazy. Hanging out with Chris’s sister for the day swinging by yarn stores got me itching to throw some new projects on the needles. Of course, we were in the middle of a heat wave. Why not knit with some super warm Lopi? I’ve been debating non-stop about what to make with the yarn I brought back from Iceland. Even though I’ve started the project I still haven’t completely decided on what the final piece will look like. I’m loosely following a pattern from my “Knitting with Icelandic Wool” book. I plan on adding some waist shaping, and I’m terrified of steeking it… but at least I’ve started. I cast on in line with the Regla pattern, but used the bottom pattern from the Bára pattern.

I can’t decide what to do for the yoke, though. My sweater is going to be grey, white and black. The main body is grey, the details in white and black. I like the bottom so far, but I’m not sure that my stitches have equal tension. I’m debating whether to rip the whole thing out and try again or if blocking it will help smooth everything out.

The prospect of steeking is completely freaking me out. Mostly because I’m unsure about the fit, and once I steek, its a done deal. EEEEP! As far as yoke, I’m leaning towards the upper left version. I’d love to add a hood too, but I don’t think I’ll have enough yarn. We’ll see. Onward!!

various yoke options