Pouring rain at Cabin #1

Months of practice. Sewing costumes, organizing multiple acts, choreographing till brains went numb, multiple near-break downs… the girls all put their damnedest in. All for naught. That massive storm that took out the power for over 2.1 million people and took the lives of at least 15… yeah, it shut down our stage Friday night from about 9:30 on. We were all told to secure our camps and seek shelter. Our little camp (me, Michelle, Tim and Dave) hung out in Michelle’s car, watching the storm. I’ve never seen so much lightening. The rain wasn’t really that bad. It knocked down our tarp, but it was a fairly easy fix and our tents were well staked and stayed dry. Some other campers weren’t nearly so lucky. Its been a while since I’ve seen such incompetent pitching. One guy’s unstaked shade structure flipped completely over (surprise, surprise). Another never staked his rain fly, and half his tent crushed in, the poles bent. Overall though, I’d say damage at the campground was minimal. Our show though? Cancelled. There was a 30 minute slot on Sunday night, but Jen didn’t want to cut anyone for the show. So it was re-scheduled for Sunday night. Maybe. From looking at the schedule I’m not sure where it would fit. I still don’t know if they ran anything.

I never stay through Sunday. Two days is about all I can handle at this event, and this year was particularly rough. Like the rest of the East Coast, Darlington MD was experiencing a massive heat wave. 90 degrees at night. Humid, sticky, stagnant. Pounding music all night. “How’s your PEX?” and people partying… Tim, Dave and I are all reluctant PEXies for sure. Chris asks why I go. “The fun part is our performance on Friday night.” I respond. Without that, the whole weekend felt like a chore. Michelle and the rest of the girls performed an awesome dance before the effigy burn (as Setu Tribe) so that was good to see… but I just couldn’t even pretend that I was going to have fun at any of the DJ tents. Perhaps if I felt more comfortable free-form spinning I could’ve had some fun in the spin jams. I need to work on that, because it would give me a good way to participate in these events. As is, though, I know my choreography, and just kind of freeze up other than that. Watching some of the performers was interesting, and I’m inspired to work more on my stage presence. But I just couldn’t stay through Sunday night with only a possibility that we would be performing. I wanted to be home. Chris had a real rough week at work the past week, and I wanted to spend time with him. If I had stayed I wouldn’t have really seen him until Wednesday (work all day, Softball/dance after work… Wednesday would be the first night we’d get to spend time together).

Can’t get this at PEX

And I did have a lovely day with him. We went to the farmer’s market as soon as I got home (I felt like a dirty hippy… such filthy feet!), then the coffee shop and later ate ice cream and watched cheesy sci-fi movies. A really nice Sunday. I also ran into a colleague when we were getting lunch who talked about bringing me in on a really great project. If I hadn’t been in Philly, I wouldn’t have run into him and who knows if that connection would have been made. (I’m being vague because he hasn’t confirmed anything yet, and I don’t want to jinx it… and its a very exciting piece I can’t wait to work on!)

As great as my Sunday was, though, I’m heartbroken that I didn’t get to perform. Part of me wanted to stay through Sunday and finish off the show, but there was no guarantee it would actually run. We all worked so hard! I’m sure the folks who were in more than one act were even more sick over the whole thing. Tim built a huge roulette wheel that was tarped over for the storm and taken down Sunday morning. Some of the acts were from out of the country (we called them the “French Mafia”… I’m super disappointed I didn’t get to see their piece) and others from all over, so likely won’t be able to perform even if we can reschedule something in Philly. We’ve got to do something, though, even if the show line-up changes. Anyone have suggestions of where to perform a 45 minute or so multi-act fire show? Outside stages that we can rent or events looking for performers? Fire hoopers, double staff duets, a fan troupe, an awesome burlesque number and more… and hopefully before Burning Man becomes the focus and takes the majority of our performers out to the desert.

