Today, while waiting for files to render and cuts to be approved, I spent some time bouncing around on the BBC news site, and came across the most amazing article… sonification of the Higgs Boson “god particle”. And the sounds are beautiful.

Simulated Higgs Boson Event

I’ve been keeping a loose eye on news about the Large Hadron Collider (at CERN) since all the controversy about creating a black hole and blowing up the planet. The thing finally got running, and the world didn’t explode, but it was plagued by set-back after strange set-back (a bird dropping a piece of bread being one of them). The circumstances were so strange that at one point some scientists were theorizing that the Future was trying to stop the creation of a Higgs Boson.

Its good to see that this latest development isn’t another attack from the future. Instead, its a very creative way to interpret the data to spot an abnormal ‘event’ that could be the elusive Higgs Boson. I’ve been trying to check out the website about the project, but it seems overloaded at the moment, all I can get is the wordpress page, which makes me want the real site even more. I love the artwork for the project, done by Toya Walker. Click on some of those links and check it all out. You’ll be happy you did, I promise.

