Last night while watching Beetlejuice I finally got around to finishing this quick little test of the reflective yarn:

lights on

lights on

lights off, with flash

lights off, with flash

So I’m not sure how bright it will be… I had a really hard time figuring out what to make. I already have scarves that I really like, and I wear a white helmet, so a reflective hat wouldn’t really add any safety value. I figured a cuff would be visible in the summer, and I can strap it to my bag when I’m not wearing it. Fits the bag great, but its a bit small for my wrist. I really should make something to attach to the back of my bag, since thats what is most visible when I ride. This reflective stuff is odd. More like thread than yarn. Think thin but strong tinsel. I’m sort of surprised there aren’t more projects out there that use this stuff, seems like a pretty natural progression for those crafters who go out around cars at night. I think this could make some useful items for your average pedestrian as well as bikers or runners… I see some Christmas presents in my future! Any requests?

