potatoes and fish

Its been a tasty weekend. I’ve been craving mashed potatoes, lately, ever since seeing Mickey’s leftover lunch last week. Threw some spices in with the potatoes, and paired them with flounder from Ippolito’s. It was a little bit of an odd combo, but rather tasty. Then again, I think mashed potatoes might be one of my favorite foods ever, so I don’t think I’d ever complain about a meal that includes a heaping serving. I’ve also been wanting to make pumpkin waffles, ever since reading this post on the Craft blog. My mom gave me a waffle maker a few months ago, so I figured it was a perfect time to try it out. Well, it didn’t really work, so they ended up as pancakes. I have a few left over, waiting for me to toast in the morning… mmmmmm. Other tasty things made but not photographed: tomato, cucumber and mozzarella salad (not as good as John’s from the fish fry, though), BBQ chicken with pumpkin sauce, grilled zucchini and some rather good Wisconsin cheese and crackers (with some of Jes’s AMAZING peach jam). Although we didn’t really make that last one, we got the cheese for watching the cats, so I suppose it was a little bit of work. :-)

It was a crafty weekend, too… with much work done on my costume for this Friday’s performance. Feathers everywhere! At least the cats aren’t here anymore to mess with my work, I think they’d make quick work of the wrapped hair sticks. I’m feeling much better about the performance after getting together with M. and working out the choreography. I think it will be quite a show. (Check out the info over on our Rag Tag site, in performances…) I’m also looking forward to helping M. out with her costumes for various projects she has coming up… its nice to be sewing someone-else’s project for a change, and not having to figure it all out on my own. Plus she’s a lovely host and I just love her amazing studio, even if it is a bit of a haul to get there. At least the bike ride is a good workout!

