shrimp from Ippolitos

shrimp from Ippolito's

Its that time of year again, when Chris comes back from Louisiana with a cooler full of fish. We’d never be able to get through it all by ourselves, so we had a bunch of friends over to help us out. Of course, we always end up with too much food, but that’s never a bad thing. The menu this year: jambalaya (my favorite), grilled fish, grilled corn, bread with Gorgonzola and anchovies, and grilled shrimp (with their heads!). We had also planned to make burgers, grilled veggies, and turkey dogs, but we never made it that far. (Another call is going out today… come one, come all and help us use up our leftovers!!)

Ugly Ugly Ugly!

Ugly Ugly Ugly!

The other team won.

The other team won.

As bellies got fuller and the coals died down, the games came out. First a hearty round of the Ugly Doll game. Its meant for little kids, and I only bought it because I think the dolls are cute, but I think it must be one of the best liked games we have. Very simple in concept, everyone sits around the cards and takes turn flipping them, slapping the cards when three of a kind are revealed. It gets riotous, ridiculous and real fun. Some Tumba next, which never lasts too long and finished off with a good game of Outburst, a copy from 1988. I haven’t played a modern release, so I don’t know if its so bizarre because its dated or if that’s just the way the game is. One of the cards (things you put on your face) actually reprimanded people for soap. The card read “soap (shame, shame).”

The best thing about fish fries- using the leftovers to make breakfast in the morning….mmmmmmmmm

(*update*)

yum.

redfish and tomatoes from the garden

i love my apron

i love my apron

I didn’t get very good pictures of the actual grilling from the fish fry, but here are some from the next day. Chris and I had an amazing and relaxing dinner. I always forget how great it can be to fire up the grill when cooking for two.

so good.

so good. Best zucchini ever.

