purple peppers...

purple peppers...

We found some amazing purple peppers at the farmers market at Rittenhouse. They turned green when we cooked them, but had an interesting flavor. We’ve been marinating tofu and baking it lately- its super easy, and a great thing to have around to throw onto veggies or in a salad or wrap…. I want to try making my own tofu soon, but I have a few supplies (like pie weights and cheesecloth) that I need to pick up before I attempt it. The rest of the meal was fresh corn (from the market) couscous cooked with mint (from my garden) mixed with a rather spicy jalapeno (from the garden) and a pepper and onion (from the market). The baked tofu and salmon burger (from Ippolitio’s, a few blocks away) topped off the whole thing. mmmmm….. Then some blueberries and blackberries from the market with whipped cream for dessert. Quite a satisfying meal, and aside from the whipped cream, pretty healthy, too!

mmm.... dinner

mmm.... dinner

Swung by EMS to buy some hiking pants, the awesome zip-off-into-shorts kind. I was hoping to bring them down to the beach on Monday, but they didn’t have my size in the color I wanted. How come light khaki is the color of choice for hiking gear? All the light colors seem like a terrible idea for hiking, or any activity where you run around in the woods. I ended up buying way too much hiking gear from REI’s website… but I still need to go to I. Goldberg to stock up for my trip with Jen. I really can’t wait for our hiking weekend….

