Lit up bug

Lit up bug

The fourth of July has been a bit of a jinxed holiday for me for the past four years or so… but I am happy to say this year proceeded without event, in a lovely way. Chris and I biked up to Manyunk to Chelsea and Balog’s house for a totally low-key BBQ. Chased some fireflies, played with the dogs and lazed in the grass. Balog made amazing food, a fascinating mashed cauliflower and cheese dish among the other deliciousness…. Usually I despise cauliflower (it seems a blander and tougher version of broccoli to me), but it was amazing.

sparks

sparks

After dinner we climbed up to the roof and watched the fireworks happening all around. I really like getting up close to fireworks, but it was nice to see them at all the various locations all over the city and beyond. At one point there must have been at least four sets going off at once, in competing bright splashes. The night sky was a constant rumble and flash. After the art museum ones finally went off, we climbed back down (eep!) and set off the mixed pack of little fireworks I got a few weeks ago. Not a bad selection for about $20! Some really cool fountains and sparking things- and an added bonus of being all legal in PA fireworks, so no worries about police. Though I don’t think the police care very much by Chelsea, there were some pretty nice local displays throughout the night.

sparklers

sparklers

I got to play around with long exposures on my camera, and got some pretty cool photos of tracing sparklers and some cracking-sparking things that Balog had. The puppy (Maddie… so cute) kept trying to chase the sparklers, which was amusing, luckily she didn’t end up with any burnt fur. We headed back into the city around midnight. Kelly Drive was closed down for a bit, so it was nice biking, without having to dodge pedestrians and idiot bikers. Overall, a really perfect fourth of july.

Today, some household tasks beckon- cleaning, laundry, etc. But I’m sure I’ll head over to Ultimo with a book at some point too…. what a wonderful weekend its been.

