This is a lovely little door at Rakkasah, a bellydance festival that is held at the Ukrainian Culture center in Somerset, NJ, twice a year. Its very Oz-like to buy your ticket. You lean down to the diamond (which is at the seated man’s eye line) and talk to the man behind the plywood, slide your money through the little slot. This time I learned something that makes that little ticket window even better… behind the curtain is the dancer’s dressing area. The ticket man basically gets stuck in the strange little area while all the ladies get changed, and people bring food and water to him when the room clears out of women in various states of undress. I took this photo for my mom, who always finds the ticket booth amusing. I overheard them saying they were going to try to make a new door for next year…. but I hope that this little window stays just the way it is.
Birthday cake!

Birthday cake!

A few of the Rag Tag girls and I went to Somerset for the weekend to partake in Spring Caravan, the tribal version of Rakkasah. It was Angie’s birthday on saturday, so Jes and I suprised her with a cake that we picked up at a local bakery. The whole weekend was amazingly fun. Workshops, dancing, shopping, performing…. (Check out my dance blog for more about the whole weekend… will be posted soon) Really great to spend the weekend with girls I have so much fun with.

