Elkins Estate

Originally uploaded by ducksRfriends

Last weekend, Angie and I took workshops with Zafira, hosted by Hipnosis. They were held on the Elkins Estate, a most amazing location. It was a big old marble building with beautiful grounds, a really lovely way to spend a spring day. The drills were awesome, and the performances that night were fantastic.

After being on a pretty big high about our troupe, we got a bit of a reality check when we performed on Sunday. The evening went less than smooth, and I for one felt rather off during the performance. Of course, I often feel off and its only when I see the video that I realize no one in the audience can see how it feels like my legs can’t hold me up quite right. Even if it wasn’t as bad as we think, we still have a lot of work ahead of us before we can be a real troupe. Spring Caravan looms and I fear that we will not be able to get enough practice time to feel comfortable facing that room full of dancers from all over the country. Although, I’ve heard that once you loose your anxiety before performing, it means you don’t care anymore… I don’t know if thats true or not, but it makes the butterflies a little easier to deal with.

Its funny, being around all these dancers lately has really made me want to get my tattoo….

elephants on parade

elephants

elephants

Every day I ride home past a strip of tattoo parlors, and it always gets me thinking…. I’m still in search of someone to draw out my tattoo. I have a pretty good idea of what I want, including some reference images and a poorly photoshopped mock-up. What I lack is the skill. I’m looking for something that is very illustrated, pulling inspiration from Trina Schart Hyman‘s storybook images. (Also, the cover of this book) So now my plea…. can someone please help me find an illustrator willing to draw out my tattoo? Or recommend a tattoo shop in Philadelphia with artists who could do it?

The drawing to the right is the reference I mocked up (I want it on my upper left arm).

As a side note,  I’m currently in love with Nancy Elizabeth‘s song “Corriander”…. so lovely….. take a listen and you’ll see what I mean. Thank you Pandora. Thank you.

