a cricket sent to work from 5alarmmusic

a cricket sent to work from 5alarmmusic

Last night while I was trying to fall asleep I started thinking about how important story-telling has been for me. My mother used to tell us stories (about a little mouse who lived in a rock full of holes, among others). We loved to light the red train lantern for story time. Gave it a special atmosphere. My grandfather told us stories, about a green teddybear. Come to think of it, we had a story light then, too… a green ceramic christmas tree with colored lights all around it…. anyway, I’ve been reading a lot of fairy tales lately, and they are lovely (particularly the George McDonald collected fairy tales that I picked up at the used book store before Christmas) but lack the spontaneity of a fresh made tale.

So I want to play a game. I am going to pick up some of those light brown moleskin notebooks, and I’d like to have a running story. I love the blank pages in those notebooks, and that there is a little pocket to tuck things into…. space for drawing and taping things in, too…. I also like the idea of writing something imaginary, instead of the observational writing I lean towards.

So, who would like to create a story with me? Either respond back to this or send me an email,  If no one responds to this post, I’ll send an email out to the people I’d like to be involved… we can flip a coin for who gets to start the story. Sort of like my sister’s journal project, add an entry and then mail it on…. a growing story…..

