¡Lotería!
Originally uploaded by ducksRfriends

After getting off the bus, thinking I was heading the wrong direction. Then walking and waiting and getting on the same bus… I finally made it to my breakfast destination, ¡Lotería! Jaime and I got lunch there on the first day of adventuring, and I was tempted at the time to try the huevos rancheros. Oh my goodness, am I glad I went back. Fantastic. Great Mexican coffee, too. The rain really started to pick up on my walk from the Farmer’s market to the La Brea tar pits.

excavation site

excavation site

I wanted to take a photo like Alexis’s, but there was no one around to ask to take the shot, and it was terribly dreary anyway. I got some shots from inside the little observation shack next to pit 91. I wonder how they first got the idea to dig down into the tar pit instead of just avoiding the whole thing cause it was gross. Went from the La Brea tar pits to LACMA, and saw some amazing work. The Vanity Fair exhibit was really cool. I wandered my way through the modern art section. I really liked a panel painting, “The Red Rose and The White Rose” (1902) by Margaret Macdonald Mackintosh. Also a piece by Thomas Wilfred. It was ‘light art’. He made these machines he called Caviluxes (latin for light played by key) that performed ‘concerts of light’. The one at LACMA is called Opus 161 and has a total running time of one year, 315 days and 12 hours. Apparently there are only 18 automatic claviluxes. Really cool. Seriously, if you don’t click another link I have here, click one of his… amazing. There was also an interesting Indonesian textile exhibit, with a few pieces dating as far back as 1419-1520. I liked the quote on the blurb about the exhibit- “For Indonesians the art of weaving- the intercrossing of the warp and the waft- symbolizes the structure of the cosmos. The warp threads fastened between the two ends of the loom represent the predestined elemnets of life, while the weft threads passing back and forth and in and out denote life’s variables.” (Paramita Abdurachman) It seems weaving is liked to fate and cosmos in many cultures. The coolest part of that exhibit was that I think the woman who owns all the work and was the guest curator, Mary Hunt Kahlenberg, was actually showing some friends of hers around the gallery when I was in there. I wanted to talk to her, but she left before I got the nerve.

I was planning on stopping at the Hollywood cemetary on my way home, but the rain picked up again when I got on the bus to head back, so axed that plan. Not sure what the plan is for Friday night in LA…..

