I like my moms better... but this photo links to DIY instructions

I like my mom's better... but this photo links to DIY instructions

My mom lived in Germany for a while, and, as I remember, thats where the golden walnuts came from. Not directly, but as I recall the story, she was inspired by the ornaments in germany, and spent a lot of time making golden painted walnut ornaments for the family. She went years thinking that everyone disliked them. Of course, I grew up with the walnuts, so to me they mean christmas in all the good ways… decorating the tree, eating cookies, the excitement of what the morning will hold. Somehow the walnuts came up a few years ago at a family event, and my mom lamented that she had spent so much time on them, and was so happy with the way they turned out…. and everyone hated them. Perhaps she was trying to throw them out, I’m not really sure how it came up. But one after another, we all told her how wrong she was! We loved the golden walnuts! I remember thinking how sad it was that she had gone all those years thinking that the family just put them up out of habit, or obligation… when really every year, opening the box that holds them lets out the christmas spirt.

This little guy made my office smell lovey and festive today

This little guy made my office smell lovey and festive today

Anyway, Ann and I were talking about Christmas traditions, and I told her the story of the walnuts. Of course, I probably have some details wrong, but thats part of the interesting bit of famly traditions and stories… no one ever has the full story. Today she brought in a cloved orange (or clementine… tiny) for me, “in the spirit of the walnuts”. It was such a lovely suprise! Lovely design with the cloves, too. Wrapped in chinese Joss paper, so festive.

