huge piniata

Originally uploaded by ducksRfriends

Yes. That is a box truck. Next to the pinata. Ok, so I don’t know what this is all about. Its a giant pinata on the corner of Broad and Washington. The head was off to the left, but I couldn’t get a good photo of it. I have a suspicion this has something to do with the Phillies parade tomorrow. Don’t know how it fits in (cause you hit pinatas with bats maybe?) but perhaps its a float of some kind. I love that there is that huge lot used for odd things. Thats where the cirque de soleil tent went up, I’ve heard carnivals are there in the summer… what a lovely lot to have nearby. You never know what will show up next.

** update **

I’ve found out what the deal with the pinata is. From here: “It seems that Carnival Cruise Lines has spent months planning a huge event in downtown Philadelphia set for Sunday; in which an enormous, six-story piñata was scheduled to be suspended above 20th and Market and then broken apart to shower the good citizens of Philly with more than 800 pounds of delicious candy (I see no way this can go wrong). But on Tuesday, the city sent out a news release revealing that the site of the piñata demolition would be moved. The release, via Philly Edge: Due to the exciting World Series run by the Philadelphia Phillies, the city has requested that the location for this event be changed. It will now be held in South Philadelphia, at South Broad Street and Washington Avenue, from 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. The piñata will be destroyed at approximately 1:30 p.m.”

Ok, so I guess it sucks for them that it had to move from center city. But great for me!!!

