So, I’ve been meaning to get to the Tribal bellydance class that is run at Studio 1831 for a while. Ok, so it took me over a year to get to the Wed. night beginner class. And when I finally went, I had a “sheesh, what took me so long?” moment. Multiply that tenfold and thats what happened when I got to the Tribal class. Finally! What I was looking for! The other class is fun, don’t get me wrong. But part of what got me into bellydance in the first place was all the amazing people I met along the way. The beginner class is a constantly shifting, often overcrowded lot. Nice folk, but I find it a little odd that I could stand next to someone for 5 weeks and barely say a word. Not that the blame is on the classmates, I didn’t bring up conversation either. But it seemed we were content to dance in silence, thank Valarie for the class and head our separate ways.

Perhaps I’m being premature. But finally this is the class I’ve been trying to find since I stopped taking Sara Lee’s classes. Small, only three other dancers. (Though I’m sure that fluctuates). And friendly. As an example of the contrast: I have a beautiful hipscarf that I made from remnants and bits bought at Rakkasah over a few years. My expereince with dancers is that if you take out any beautiful costuming, they can’t help but start a conversation about it. I wore the scarf at the beginner class for weeks untill someone mentioned it. Not that I’m out there fishing for compliments on my handiwork, but whenever I see a dance piece I like, I always try to find out more about it. Well, the second I put it on and walked over to the dance floor, the teacher Michelle remarked on the scarf. And this led to a conversation with another student about where to buy fabric and the friendliness went on from there. Oh it was lovely.

